Research = Lonely?

Once, me and Pak Moko were talking about our mate, Listra, who rarely coming to our meeting in recent times. After sending her an email, finally she replied and said that she couldnt join yet again because she was busy doing research and that was kind of lonely. And can you guess what is Pak Moko’s response about it? Here it is…

capture-20140108-114952
One of my professor used to say, jokingly, “If it isn’t lonely, it isn’t research.” When I’m doing research I like to work alone, too … but it is not necessarily a lonely endeavor. I always have half a dozen or so “experts” talking in my head — I call ‘em “the committee.”

Of course I still need to tell others –real persons– about what I’m doing, usually than happens at the Friday evening gathering by the Terrace (lake Mendota). It’s a very human thing to do, as Carl Sagan wrote his thought on science in his book (one of the 2014 reading list):
“Popularizing science – trying to make its methods and findings accessible to non-scientists – then follows naturally and immediately. Not explaining science seems to me perverse. When you’re in love, you want to tell the world. This book is a personal statement, reflecting my lifelong love affair with science.”
– “The Demon Haunted World: Science as a Candle in the Dark” (Carl Sagan, 1996), p.278.
Moko/
++++

 

……….

So, what do you think? 😐

I try to understand, but, still, legitimate loneliness as part of a research sounds so pathetic for me 😐

Then I share with Giri, a friend of mine who has been living in Tokyo for several years, until we fortunately agree that it was really American culture, to work individually and based on a project. It will hardly to find  in Asia, who usually work collectively, or even sometimes involve their families.

Leave a Reply

